pounds & persistence

my journey toward fitness and wellness and faith

Hello world!

Tomorrow is the first day of the rest of my life! I know that sounds incredibly cheesy, and has been said before, but hopefully, for me, it will be true. It has to be.

I weighed myself this afternoon. The scale screamed 261 pounds.

I know you’re supposed to weigh yourself in the morning. My sister says you’re not supposed to have eaten. I heard you’re supposed to do it at approximately the same time and in approximately the same clothing to get accurate results. I didn’t do any of these things, so my first thought is that the scale must be wrong. Those guidelines must matter a whole lot more than I thought they did, because there’s no way that number¬†actually represents MY weight. But it does. And it needs to change.

I’ve never seen a number that large on a scale before except on TV. Scary. And shocking. So it’s time for today to be the first day I make a change, that I stick with a diet, that I commit to an exercise regimen, that I take back the rest of my life, or I may not have one. Not the one I wanted and maybe, if I encounter weight related health issues, not one at all. So I’m gonna try again what I’ve failed at so many times before.

I joined Weight Watchers. I also joined a gym. Tomorrow I will weigh in at a center and get my points allotment. Tomorrow I will actually work out at the gym. Tomorrow I will blog again and let you know how I feel as I embark on this scary but necessary journey, because I can’t just resign myself to this situation or this weight. Tomorrow will be the first day of the rest of my new, thinner, fitter life.

C.C.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

