pounds & persistence

my journey toward fitness and wellness and faith

Movie Madness

Weight: 253.0 lb

On Sundays, my husband and I get up early and go to church. Well, it feels early to me, and likely many readers out there as well, though my husband has typically already been lying awake, staring “quietly” at the ceiling or “silently” reading his Kindle for the last 45 minutes to an hour while he waits for me to stir. Ah, the joys of being married to an early riser… Anyhow, this Sunday morning tradition has allowed me the joy this morning of discovering that, a mere 8-9 lbs down, my clothes are fitting better. This morning I easily zipped and comfortably wore a cute little black skirt that had been squeezing my waist in all recent wearings. That, my friends, is one small victory that I will cherish and I spent all day saying to my husband “Babe, how does this skirt look? Do you like it? ‘Cause I think I look HOT! And look at the way it FITS!” as I twirled in a circle in front of him. Must have been maddening, but he readily agreed each time.

Of course, Maryland is in the middle of a KILLER heat wave (literally, some people have died from overheating on the east coast recently) and so, after church, we decided to go sit in a nice air-conditioned movie theater and take in the new Captain America film. To maintain this more svelte figure, I have shied away from the concessions stand at the movie theater recently, but given my giddiness about my cute skirt, I figured maybe I’d indulge a little. I pulled out my iPhone and started searching my WW app for all sorts of concessions temptations only to discover that even Raisinettes were 10 points for a movie theatre box. 10 points! Who can afford THAT kind of indulgence?! Of course, I skipped the candy in favor of a large Coke Zero but my indignation still stands. Anyone know of a movie treat that isn’t a whole meals-worth of points? Or bring something from home that’s tasty during a film? Suggestions here would be great, because I know I’ll face this dilemma again on our next date night out…

C.C.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Movie Madness

  1. Brie Foster on said:

    way to GO!

  2. Kathie on said:

    http://www.weightwatchers.ca/util/art/index_art.aspx?art_id=12261&tabnum=1&sc=3017&subnav=Shopping+%26+Ingredients

    Here you go Sweetie, all of the home made pop corn brands you could imagine for 1 or 2 points. My favorite thing to do is Cayenne pepper and Parmesan Cheese, a light dusting of both, yum! I know it’s hard to conceal 5 cups of popcorn as you nonchalant your way into the theater but think tote, or large canvass-summer-something. You could even put 2 Zero Cokes in that bag and save a bundle while you are at it!

Leave a Reply

