pounds & persistence

my journey toward fitness and wellness and faith

Breakfast Recipes

OK, so this blog is titled POUNDS and persistence. Lately, I’ve focused so much on persistence, you may have thought I forgot all about the pounds. Oh no, I haven’t forgotten. They’re still there, starting me in the face every time I shower, eat, buy a new swimsuit… it’s still very much about the pounds. But since my diagnosis, it’s also been about the health. I’d love to shed the extra inches, if not just to look better naked and strut that in front of my hubby, but I care more about choosing good things to eat and exercising because it’s good for my long-term, overall health. While some people think this way naturally, are maybe genetically predisposed to think log-term and care about what’s good for them 10 or 20 years from now, for me, it’s been a whole new approach.

In any case, I’ve been making small but steady changes to my diet, some of which have been informed by the research I’ve done on MS and various MS diets, and some of which have been informed by just basic good rules to good living that most of us are aware of. For example, I no longer eat red meat. I’m eating protein, don’t you worry, but a lot of the stuff on MS diets I had read suggested that you forgo the red kind of meat and therefore I’m abstaining. This is hard when we pass an Outback Steakhouse and I think of all the delicious beefy steaks I’m missing out on, but generally this has not been TOO difficult as there are usually some kind of turkey or chicken or veggie substitute for more red meat items. Even my husband has learned to like a good turkey sausage or ground turkey tacos, so my largest hurdle there is behind me.

However, I’ve been struggling a bit with breakfasts. I have to eat in the morning. You’re supposed to break the fast. And people who eat breakfast have generally less pounds to lose than those who don’t. And it’s the most important meal of the day. And, most significantly to me, if I don’t eat something and I just consume 8-10 oz of coffee with my multi-vitamin and fish oil supplements, I will be incredibly nauseous and potentially vomit later, which is really not convenient in the middle of teaching first period. Therefore, I eat. But I haven’t been wowed by what I’m eating. In fact, since I’m really not a morning person, I usually stumble downstairs and grab anything that doesn’t require much effort, say a banana or some instant oatmeal, while I watch my coffee brew and wait for my dogs to do their business. Much more work than this, and I just can’t manage it. But this morning meal is boring, lackluster and, perhaps, nutritionally dull. So I’ve been looking for something else.

Given that it’s summer and therefore I have more time to prepare something interesting, I’m thinking of giving this recipe by Skinny Taste a go. It looks suspicious, but she claims that it is delicious and she has never steered me wrong yet. Additionally, I’ll be giving my body so many vitamins and nutrients I suspect that it will preform better for me and even be happy with me later in the day. Let me know if you find any other yummy breakfast options…

Skinny Green Monster Smoothie
Adapted from Oh She Glows
Skinnytaste.com
Servings: 1 • Serving Size: about 2 cups • Old Points: 5 pts • Points+: 6 pts
Calories: 253.4 • Fat: 4.0 g • Carb: 38.6 g • Fiber: 5.5 g • Protein: 17.5 g • Sugar: 18.4 g
Sodium: 236.7 mg 

Ingredients:

  • 1 small frozen ripe banana, peeled
  • 2 cups baby spinach
  • 1 tbsp Better n Peanut Butter
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup plain fat-free Greek yogurt (I used Chobani)

Directions:

Place all the ingredients into the blender, add ice (optional) and blend until smooth.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

