pounds & persistence

my journey toward fitness and wellness and faith

Vacay!

The hubby and I just wrapped up a wonderful week at the beach with his family. Every year, his parents rent a house and invite all 3 of their kids and their kids’ spouses and their kids’ kids (otherwise known as grandchildren for those of you keeping track) to stay in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. And every year, none of us want to say no. That’s how we find ourselves, every year, trekking 8, 9 and sometimes 10 hours when the traffic is really bad, to wedge all 12 of us into a pretty piece of beachside property.

It was a really relaxing week this year, partly because all the weeks leading up to it were so stressful, especially for my hubby. But we really enjoyed the time with the family and the time together.

One of the most amazing things about my hubby is that he makes me braver. He’s got my back and he’s going to be there for me no matter what, and he’s not afraid of my weaknesses, which somehow makes me stronger. This trip had its moments of insecurity. One afternoon, in response to my begging for an “adventure”, he took me to the Hatteras Island Lighthouse, which is the tallest lighthouse in North America (according to the signs). I thought we’d just look at the lighthouse, tour the little museum, take a few pictures and head home, but he had other plans. When we got there, he headed straight to the ticket counter to purchase 2 tickets to climb to the top. This was problematic for me since I’m afraid of heights. Terrified. But I did it and he stuck with me the whole way up and, the more difficult, way down. I felt really brave.

Before we left for the beach, I had this weird flare up with my sciatic nerve and it hurt to even climb stairs one morning. As I laid in bed that night, crying with the fear that this was a complication of the MS and that, one day, I might not be able to walk because of it, he held me. Then, on vacation, one of our family members commented that they thought it was a good idea for us to travel, to take some of the fabulous trips we’ve talked about, because down the road I might not be able to as easily. This is certainly true and was said with the best intentions, but all those fears came back in an instant and all I wanted to do was curl up and cry. Instead, my husband tells me that it’ll be ok, that we’ll figure it out, that a little mobility issue wouldn’t scare him away. He’s truly my best friend and he makes me stronger when I don’t feel strong enough. I’m so lucky to hang out with him!

20120705-161658.jpg

Hanging out

20120705-161930.jpg

At the Hatteras Island Lighthouse

20120705-161801.jpg

The tallest lighthouse in North America

20120705-162200.jpg

245 ft. up!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Vacay!

  1. Kathie on said:

    So I think it was a year ago or so that you started this blog, I am remembering your vacation time with your family and your blogs from last year. Dear Laurin, you are so right to acknowledge and be grateful for the love and companionship that you share with your husband. The ability to love and be loved is one of life’s greatest accomplishments. Sounds easy when you say it fast but it is actually quite complicated, elusive and fragile. Bravo for you guys!

    Aunt Kathie

Leave a Reply

